“I want to go hiking, where do I start?”


As the backpacking and hiking season warms up and you’re wondering about hiking and where to begin, let Carolinatrekker be your guide!

Carolina Trekker

questions-before-planning-139229684-1440x1008

“I want to go hiking, where do I start?”

I get asked this question – or a variation of it – A LOT. I guess for some of us, just knowing where we to go hiking and how to get started is something we take for granted. In my years of hiking, I’ve come to realize most people didn’t grow up on a rural, heavily wooded tract of land where you could hike every day like I did. They didn’t have relatives to teach them how to camp like I did. They didn’t have anyone to teach them about gear, or how to read a map. The great advantage to those getting into hiking today is the internet. It wasn’t that long ago that you had to do a little leg work to obtain a map or a field guide ( or guide book). Now, we can log onto…

View original post 741 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Appalachian Trail, Backpacking, Camping, Hiking, Living, Outdoor skills, outdoors, Pacific Crest Trail, Wildlife, Writing

Leave a Reply

