Thinking about the Appalachian Trail


If there’s ONE THING you can do to dramatically increase your chances of a successful A.T. thru-hike, this is it!

Write in Front of Me

A hiker signs the register at the southern ter... A hiker signs the register at the southern terminus of the AT on Springer Mountain (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I know you’re out there.  You are the ones who, like me, read a book that put the hook in you.  For most of you, it was “A Walk in the Woods” by Bill Bryson.   For me, it was “Appalachian Hiker II,” by Ed Garvey, which I read in 1984.  That did it for me.  I already had the boots, the backpack, and gear.  I was avidly hiking in places like the Uwharrie National Forest, Pisgah National Forest, Linville Gorge, and Shining Rock Wilderness.  The notion of backpacking the A.T. was a logical next step.  I don’t recall a definite moment when I said to myself, “I’m going to do this.”  It just happened.  I shelved Ed Garvey’s book and drove to an outfitter.  I bought the A.T…

View original post 312 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Appalachian Trail

Leave a Reply

