Appalachian Trail Thanksgiving


Laurel Fork Falls on the Appalachian Trail in TN

For the fear before the journey, I offer thanksgiving.

For the lessons yet to come, I offer thanksgiving.

For the steep slope and majestic mountains, I offer thanksgiving.

For the sunny days and fair-cloud skies, I offer thanksgiving.

For the rugged cliff and cool green tunnel, I offer thanksgiving.

For the long downhill and the cool spring, I offer thanksgiving.

For the long road and unseen turn, I offer thanksgiving.

For the glory of nature and power of storm, I offer thanksgiving.

For the rest in the shade, food for the soul, my thanksgiving.

For provision and shelter and fire, my thanksgiving.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

For the smiles and the tears and the pain, my thanksgiving.

For the goal and the mud and the summit, I offer thanksgiving.

For the miles behind me, those yet ahead, my thanksgiving.

For the newfound confidence, new-met friends, thanksgiving.

For the apprehensions I have overcome, my thanksgiving.

For the doubts I have walked through, my thanksgiving.

For the happiness and the loneliness, my thanksgiving.

For the strength to take each step, to hike each day, thanksgiving.

For the call of the owl, the hymn of the bird, thanksgiving.

For the presence of unseen power, thanksgiving.

For the relief from the heat, I offer my thanksgiving.

For the cool wet bandana laid on my brow, thanksgiving.

Hiking Stick

For the company of others enduring the same, thanksgiving.

For the restoration of my faith in others, I am thankful.

For the silence and the solitude, I am thankful.

For the last difficult mile and the life beyond Katahdin, I give thanks.

For the sunsets beyond the trail, I offer thanksgiving.

For the new bend in the road, I offer thanksgiving.

For the spark which led me to this endeavor, my thanksgiving.

For the mirror of the trail to show me myself, my thanksgiving.

For the memories, the words, the achievement — thanksgiving.

1 Comment

Filed under Appalachian Trail, Backpacking, The Appalachian Trail, Timothy J. Hodges, Writing

One response to “Appalachian Trail Thanksgiving

  1. I like how you captured the movement of water in the first photo. And, the autumnal colors of the second photo are beautiful. Have a happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

