Lenticular loveliness


Assisi lenticular clouds 1

Assisi lenticular clouds 1 (Photo credit: James D. Law)

Somewhere along the Appalachian Trail I saw my first lenticular cloud.  I’ll never forget it.  It seemed so surreal to me that I could almost hear the theme music from “The Twilight Zone.”  After a few seconds, I came back to my senses and the surreal was replaced by marvel and wonder.

Lenticular clouds are so named because of their lens-like appearance, and look very much like flying saucers.  And, yes, they have been mistaken for them at times.

Related articles

When clouds play tricks with your mind, forming UFO shapes which startle and confuse (dailymail.co.uk)

Sky Poet (cliffmass.blogspot.com)

Leave a comment

Filed under The Appalachian Trail

Leave a Reply

