There was magic in the air!


FREEMAN, Dr. David L. Of Newton, MA, on July 8, 2012. Beloved husband of Dr. Amanda B. Freeman. Devoted father of Joshua, Daniel and his wife Natalie, and Aaron Freeman. Proud grandfather of Gil Parker and Delia Freeman. Loving brother of Joanne Grossman and her husband Marvin, and Judith Freedman and her husband Merton. David was very active at the Social Action Committee at Temple Israel. An accomplished pianist, he played for many charitable causes including nursing homes, Lahey Clinic, and Boston Piano Amateurs Association. He was a trusted and caring physician for many years. David and his beloved wife provided medical care to families needing assistance after natural disasters in Latin America. Services at Temple Shalom Newton MA, on Wednesday, July 11, 2012 at 12 Noon. Following interment, memorial observance will be at David and Amanda’s residence until 7pm and will continue Thursday and Friday 4-7 pm. In lieu of flowers, donations in his memory may be made to Rabbi Carl and Barbara Friedman Scholarship Fund, Hebrew College, 160 Herrick Rd., Newton, MA 02459, or Temple Shalom, 175 Temple St., Newton, MA 02465. Brezniak-Rodman Chapel Brezniakrodman.com

*******************************************

Sometimes in our comings and goings we do not realize how even those we never directly meet touch our lives – until they are no longer among us.  So it was with Dr. David L. Freeman – a man to whom I never spoke.

My encounter with Dr. Freeman consisted of this: I passed through the lobby of Lahey Clinic in Burlington, MA fairly regularly.  Often it was either to accompany my wife on a medical appointment, or for myself.  This day it was for my annual physical exam.

Near the center of the lobby sits a grand piano.  What made it so grand besides the name was the man I never met who sat at it, often during the noontime hour, and played.  I believe I did stop to watch and admire his dexterity and talent and love as it poured from his fingers and cascaded across the lobby at least a few times.  Mostly I passed along, but never without noting the tunes and knowing that he was bestowing a gift of life to patients and visitors and staff.

Today, the piano sat silent.  Two vases of flowers graced the top, along with a portrait of Dr. Freeman and a written tribute about his passing.  Surely there were some who would want to know why David was absent from the keys, so the considerate memorial informed people about it.

I felt blessed to have heard his expression of love through his music.  I have loved the piano all my life, and as a child dreamt of learning to play this instrument but never did.  Instead, I listened to performances and recordings of other greats – and I heard David Freeman, as he wove the air with notes of love and left a legacy which is incomparable.  I am glad I did not take hearing him for granted, and in that I feel I did know him in a significant way.

No one will replace his presence or means of touching human lives.  Thank you, Dr. Freeman, for making patients and visitors and doctors and staff all the richer and happier with the comfort of music.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Appalachian Trail

Leave a Reply

